Exercise Update – 2013-04-12

Exercise update:  So on Wednesday, I took a day off.  My left knee was feeling a little sore, and I’ve somehow become so dedicated to working out that it had been well over a month since I had a day that I didn’t do something.  Yesterday, I did the “Strength Builder” routine which focuses on the knee and my knee felt pretty good.  Day off worked.

As an aside, I did a particular stretch in yesterday’s workout that I couldn’t believe I could do.  I had to check the video to make sure I was doing it right because I was able to take it to the “extreme” end.  I can’t do that with all the stretches, yet, but I’m thrilled at the progress.  I still have lots of work to do to achieve my body fat% goals, but in terms of flexibility, I’m way farther ahead than I expected.  I’ve decided that “weight” is a useless number for me and I don’t even pay attention to it anymore.  It’s a number without context.  I’ve done the math, and depending on what I do, and how serious I am about fitness, I could weight anywhere between 200 lbs and 240 lbs depending on how much muscle I have.  

Since DDP Yoga has had the unexpected side effect of building muscle and making my shoulders broader, I have no idea what I’ll end up at.  I’ve given up any thought of being “long and lean”.  I’m going to be big.  My undershirts are XXLTs, and while that now have an extra 4-5 inches of width on each side at my waist, they barely cover my shoulders now.  I have XXL shoulders and an L waist.  I always thought that if I worked out and such, I would return to my pre-pubescent frame of “long and lanky”, but clearly that’s not happening.  Ah, well.  I can almost touch the palm of my hands to the floor without bending my knees, I can twist in ways I never thought possible, and I can actually do a sit-up again.  I can live with that.  I can live with that for a whole lotta years.

Leave a Reply

