Two Weeks Into No Social Networking..And Maybe I’m Not Coming Back

Two weeks ago, on a complete whim, I decided to forego interacting on Twitter, Facebook, and Google+. I decided that I needed to look for different ways to spend my time and communicate with people. I was concerned that so much of my speech was being dumped into silos that I didn’t control. I don’t mean this in a privacy sense, but more in that it’s hard to search data in Twitter and Facebook, and only mildly hard to do in Google+. I’m not sure that we as society, only six or so years into the social networking age, really know what to do with it. That was the reasoning behind me cutting things off.

Two weeks in, and I’m not so sure I want to go back. I’ve found that being force to write actual posts has made me write better and maybe even break the writers block issues I seem to have. I’ve seem to have more focus at work and in the evenings when I work on my own stuff. I’m learning new things like the Go Language. I’ve discovered this great writing platform called Draft. The most popular blog post I’ve ever written was done when I wasn’t paying any attention to the social networking nonsense.

That leads me to today. Someone whose work I’m a big fan of accused someone else I’m a big fan of, of some serious offenses. If the accuser is lying, it’s terrible. If the accuser is telling the truth, it’s horrific. Meanwhile, some have lined up to cheerlead and high five each over something terrible. Snippets of information gets thrown out there, without anything official to back it up. Assumptions are made. I accept the accuser and I feel sick that someone I know and supported could do what they’ve been accused. Sick. Not gleeful. Absolutely sick.

Is this what I want to come back to?

I like blogging about skepticism, even though I don’t do enough of it. I love listening to skeptical podcasts. I love reading books on science and skepticism. That’s what I love to do. What I don’t love is Twitter or Facebook. I’m still partial to Google+ because of Hangouts, though. I think maybe that’s as far as I can go, because when something serious comes along, social networking can’t deal with it. Either the tools are lacking, or we’re not evolved enough to make it work.

We should be able to have serious conversations about serious issues without talk of “popcorn” like it was a god damn entertainment spectacle. Saying “I told you so” when you didn’t tell anyone thing, is nothing more than gloating. I’m tired of it.

Where do I go from here? I don’t know. I need some way to keep in touch with my friends that doesn’t touch the worst parts of the internet or waste my time. I honestly don’t know tonight. Just don’t know.

Leave a Reply

