Cosmos After Two Episodes and I wonder…

I wonder that I’m the wrong audience for this show. The show itself is great. Interesting topics, great graphics, and I think it captures the wonders of science. But I’m already captivated by science, so I’m not really getting that much out of it.

During the time I was eating lunch today, I was researching the evolution of the elephant. I go on to Google Maps to see if I can find the crater that killed the dinosaurs. I often refresh my memory about the eight planets. I constantly look to see if I’ve missed anything with changes to the path of human evolution. I’m fascinated by the idea that someone will bring a Neanderthal “to life”. I research computer science concepts just so I can remember what a red-black tree is. I write code all the time even when I’m not “working” because I love to create something abstract from abstract ideas. I’ll listen to an audio book about about food from the fifteenth. How much more interested in science can I be?

The recent episode, the one about evolution, I noticed that the Permian extinction appeared to show the skeletons of recently perished Dimetrodons. How many people recalled that Dimetrodons were already extinct before the Permian extinction? I knew that because less than a month ago I was refreshing my memory on the Permian synapsids.

I’ll give the show another viewing to see if it holds my interest, but I have to admit, I just think I’m the wrong audience. That’s not a bad thing, I just feel weird not watching it, when I totally want to support it.

Thoughts anyone?

Leave a Reply

