A Curious Source For Inspiration Until You Read the Book

Next Monday, I sign off of my social media accounts and most public forms of communication. As I said in my post, it’s not really about the social media, and it’s not about any drama. I think the best way to explain it would be to point you to the book “It’s So Easy And Other Lies” by Duff McKagan. If your last memory of Duff McKagan was his bloated drunk years during the Use Your Illusion era, well lots of things have changed.

About twenty years ago, Duff’s pancreas exploded and he nearly died. The brush with death and seeing his sick mother in better health than him put him on the path to sobriety and a new outlook on life. A key part of this was isolation as he worked through his demons. How he changed from Duff the drunk to Duff the businessman should resonate with everyone. You don’t have to be a Guns fan to appreciate the story.

Now, I have no demons or habits as serious as anything Duff had. I do have things I want to change, to fix, and to improve upon. I have new writing projects to tackle. I have an idea for a game I want to program. I have product ideas to prototype. As I said in a recent post, I also want to be in the best shape of my life when I turn forty. The last time I did anything like this, when I had this same feeling was in the spring of 1992, when I turned an innocent english class assignment into a cathartic writing experience. I spent three months hunched over a Tandy 1000 HX writing my story, editing and editing, until I had to turn it in. Three of the most useful months of life.

So we’ll see how it goes. I said January 1st, but I could see it going a lot longer. It definitely won’t be shorter. You will still see some blog posts on here, though, as I write more and more, but they could be reviews, articles, or short stories. Might even be a song or two.