My Response to John Rael’s JREF Salon Video Is…You Should Watch It!

John had mentioned to me he was working on a video about the JREF, but he didn’t mention a blog post of mine would be featured. I’m flattered that he used something I did in his video. I still stand by what I wrote, but John’s video did make me think about it again. While on the surface, my post about TAM reads hasty, it was really the release of feelings that had been building up for a month, ever since TAM2014.

Coming out of TAM, I had two feelings. One, that I was just at the best TAM I’d ever been at. Second, that with the behind the scenes information I had, I’d just seen the last good TAM. That was actually how I felt as I pulled into my driveway after TAM.

Then, right after I get home from the amazing DragonCon 2014, on a holiday, the JREF board drops a stink bomb in the world of skepticism. When companies want to release bad news they don’t want part of the news cycle, they do it at 5:50PM on a Friday. Was the JREF board trying to do something similar by releasing on a holiday? I don’t know, but it’s one more thing that rubbed me the wrong way with the whole thing.

I just don’t know what the JREF is doing now with little to no staff, only a fuzzy description of the future, and baggage upon baggage piled high.

In any case, enough about my rant, you should definitely check out John’s video. It’s funny, interesting, and John closes it with advice he calls trite but advice that I think everyone should be taking right now. Seriously, watch it right now!